World AIDS Day 2012

1 Dec
My bracelet!

My bracelet!

Today is World AIDS Day! Exactly one year ago, I spent this day testing for HIV and educating about the disease with female sex workers in Salvador, Brasil. It was the most meaningful experience I had until that time, and I never thought I could make a difference in the same way. One year later with Know Your Status, we (a group of 20+ Duke students) have managed to test hundreds of students and Durham residents over the course of one semester…It makes me so incredibly proud and inspired to see so many college students invested in a cause, whether political advocacy or human rights activism, I am so honored to be a part of a college campus with such progressive enthusiasm.

Me (middle) with two members of my organization tabling for World AIDS day. We tested 20 people just within a few hours

Me (middle) with two members of my organization tabling for World AIDS day. We tested 20 people just within a few hours

The flier that my organization (Know Your Status) uses to promote testing events.

The flier that my organization (Know Your Status) uses to promote testing events.

Today is December First, Day for the Fight against AIDS

Today is December First, Day for the Fight against AIDS

“We are going to win this fight. But the fight is not over.” —President Obama on World AIDS Day 2013

-Rachel Safeek

Leave a Reply

