Oi gente!

29 Aug


In 2 days, I leave for Salvador, Brazil to carry out my semester studies with the School for International Training (SIT) for this upcoming fall semester. Salvador (Cidade de São Salvador da Bahia de Todos os Santos, “City of the Holy Savior of the Bay of all Saints”is the capital and largest city of the Northeastern Brazilian state of Bahia. It is well-known for its Afro-Brazilian cultural influences and easy-going way of life, sometimes deemed “Brazil’s capital of happiness”. Not to mention, Adriana Lima is from there.

I’m gearing up for a long semester of studying health care structures and health disparities, immersing myself in the language and culture of Bahia, and carrying out a research study about gender diesmpowerment and the transmission of HIV/AIDS. Stay tuned for updates about my travels and research experiences.

Unless you’re one of my close friends or family members who are interested in knowing every detail of my whereabouts and safety, professors/mentors who are following my research,  or a student thinking about spending a semester living or studying in Brazil, you can save yourself the pages of reading and get quick updates about my Brasilian adventures as well as tips for traveling and living in Brazil through my Twitter account. Follow me!

Tchau!

One Response to “Oi gente!”

  1. Yisrael M, Safeek, MD, MBA, CPE, FACPE August 29, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other one thing.
    Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

